A Thank You to Ronda By: Katie Dunn

Four years ago I was an unhappy, overweight, out-of-shape chick, with no motivation to do anything. One day I decided I need to change. I did well for a while, but completely lost my motivation and was on the verge of giving up.

“Making a change in your life is as easy as making up your mind and acting on it. That’s it.” – Ronda Rousey; My Fight/Your Fight

One random night I was in a bar with some friends.  Ronda Rousey’s fight against Cat Zingano at UFC 184 came on. I watched her walkoutthen 14 seconds later, I saw her dominent performance against Zingano.

.UFC 184.jpeg

I was immediately inspired. I began to research this force of nature that I had just witnessed. I found myself with more motivation than I had ever experienced. I would re-watch Ronda’s old fights at the gym and read her book as soon as it was released.

Her story and passion has kept me going. Now, I am now 50 pounds lighter and happier than I have ever been. It was Ronda’s never-ending perseverance that showed me that I was also capable to change the aspects of myself and life that I was not satisfied with.

Thank you to Ronda — from the bottom of my heart, for selflessly sharing yourself with the world and reminding me that I CAN do whatever I set my mind to.

K Dunn.jpg

2 thoughts on “A Thank You to Ronda By: Katie Dunn

  1. Thank you Katie for your inspirational words. This Rousey Effect Project has been like a “pay it forward” effect from Ronda. She has opened up her heart and given us a glimpse into who she is and how she has become a champion as a fighter inside and out of the cage with her book, My Fight Your Fight. The beautiful thing about biographies, is that they serve as a permanent reminder of the impact the individual has had on the world. Ronda’s effect on the world will live on forever.

    Like

Leave a comment